FITspiration Friday: How It Began


HighFiveFitness

Photo Credit: theglamourai.com

When I started FITspiration Friday back in July, it was something I had never planned on doing. The idea for it was conceived when I was looking for my own inspiration to be fit. I quickly discovered that there are very few places to find it without having to look at other women dressed in next-to-nothing. Everywhere I turned, women were almost completely exposing themselves to show off their “new” bodies, or even their “naturally” thin ones.

After hours of searching I decided that’s not the kind of inspiration I was looking for. What’s wrong with it? It breeds envy and jealousy. It sows bitterness and frustration. It fuels negative ideas and beliefs about those who are doing what it takes to be fit and even worse ideas and beliefs about myself.

What I was looking for was someone to say the struggle is real!  That I’m not alone. That it gets easier and feels better down the road. That I’m already beautiful whether I drop sizes or not. That it’s okay to be secure in my own skin, no matter what I look like. But, sadly, that’s not what I found.

So after praying about what to do with my blog next, it became clear to me that I’m not the only one looking for a new kind of “fitspiration.” And if there was anyone willing to be the voice for us, it might just be me. As a twenty-something, I’m not alone in this desire to be healthy and fit. We’re all looking for motivation and ideas, and we don’t have to get them from images of the sickly thin and barely clothed.

As Believers, that’s not the life God designed for us.

We are created in His image! We are a reflection of Him! Genesis 1:27

It is unhealthy to look at other women wishing we had the body they have. Exodus 20:17

There are more important things in life than how we look or what we wear. Matthew 6:25

We are gorgeous the way He created us and we are to honor Him with who we are. Psalm 45:11

The condition of our hearts matters much more than our appearance. 1 Samuel 16:7

We are to do our very best at everything we do; not for ourselves or anyone else, but for Him. Colossians 3:23

And so often we forget, we need to love ourselves! Matthew 22:39

These are just a few of the reasons that compelled me to begin FITspiration Friday. And please do not hear what I’m not saying. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t focus our energy into being fit, because there are more important things. I believe being healthy and fit is just one part of the great image God created us in. Thus making it just as important, but no more than, all the other parts. Our bodies are the temple of God. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20) We are to honor Him with what we do with them, put in them, and exert out of them.  

After several weeks of these posts, I have been so encouraged by the response. Just when I start thinking no one is reading this, no one is relating to this, no one is inspired by this, I hear from one of you! You’re old family friends, you’re an acquaintance from years past, you see me at church on Sunday, you are sometimes even complete strangers from New  Zealand (and other various countries), and you are my close friends and family. You are who I write for and it’s your response that keeps me going.

It’s when I’m sitting at lunch and you tell me across the table, “I read your blog every Friday.”

When I’m sitting down at the start of Sunday School and you say, “I read your blog this week. It was really inspiring!”

When you share your own inspiring story in the comments saying, “I workout because I’ve lost 90 pounds due to my lifestyle change! That was something I never thought I could do, but I set a goal and made it just about that and not a number on a scale. I can’t picture not working out. It makes me feel so much better and full of life!”

And it’s when I’m going for a walk with you and you tell me, “I read your post about setting goals the other day, and I was totally inspired to set a goal to lose x pounds by October! And I already went online and picked out the boots that I’m going to reward myself with when I reach it! I’m so excited!”

To know that I have inspired, empowered, motivated, or encouraged you to live a healthy lifestyle – without doing it in such a way that you feel like you’re not good enough, pretty enough, or fit enough to do so in the first place – is what FITspiration Friday is all about. I am willing to be the “voice” instead of the “image.” Because, in truth, I am certainly not the image!

The struggle is real. You are not alone.  It gets easier and feels better down the road. You are already beautiful whether you drop the weight/size/inches or not. Go ahead, be secure in your own skin. You’ll enjoy it!

What do you think about FITspiration Friday? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

See you right here next Friday! I hope you have been inspired!

3 comments

  1. Nicole Warren · · Reply

    This is so awesome, Leigh!! I LOVE this!

  2. Hoeum Voeun · · Reply

    For what it’s worth and you probably hear it all the time but you are. You are beautiful just the way you are. I enjoy reading your blog articles and I hope you keep writing them.

  3. Linda Hall · · Reply

    I love you just the way you are! Don’t change! (holding hand up like a stop sign).

Read the comments or add yours.

