FITspiration Friday: Overcome Fear


ToBeAbleToDoThingsINeverDaredToDreamAboutBefore

For those of you who are new to my blog, Welcome! FITspiration Friday was created to motivate all of us to be better tomorrow than we were yesterday, and encourage each of us to make choices every day that make us as healthy as possible. Watch this quick video and I hope you enjoy this post!

A few months ago, as a meet-and-greet activity at church, everyone was asked to take a few minutes to share their answer to this question: If you could compete in the Olympic games, what sport would you train in? With no hesitation, my answer was diving! I have always been fascinated by divers! They jump from terrifying heights into the depths of water with a fearless attitude and exquisite form. How scary is that?! … I would never be able to do that! I think I’ll stick with my running (on solid ground) for now.

As we make healthy choices and set fitness goals, all of us face fears. Fear of failure, fear of the unknown, fear of letting people down (including ourselves), fear that we’re not good enough, fear that it’s just not possible for someone “like me” to live this kind of lifestyle, fear of pain or getting hurt, fear that it will always be hard, or even fear of succeeding. That’s a lot of fear, isn’t it? Every one of these fears, I have experienced myself, and the list goes on… Here are a few verses that help me overcome these fears:

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:2

As a twenty-something, my life is constantly up-in-the-air. I’m constantly asking God what He wants me to do. Sometimes I get a clear answer, sometimes I feel like He doesn’t even hear me (even though I know that’s not true.). What job am I supposed to have next? What should I study when I go back to school? When will I find my husband? Will I ever have kids? There are so many questions during this season of life. Questions that are driven by so many fears, I may not even really want to know the answers to. And as I take one step closer to finding them out each day, I have found that the fears that keep me from pursuing my dreams in the first place are the same fears that create opportunities for me! This is what it looks like to “be transformed by the renewing of your mind.” When you are willing to shift your perspective and see how much greater your possibilities are simply because, to have completed them, you will have overcome such great fear in the beginning. Are you with me?

The next time you are drowning in your fears, look at the great opportunity you have in overcoming it! Ask God to help you see His vision for you through His eyes and not your own. Remember, when He sees His plan for you, He is never afraid.  It is “His good, pleasing and perfect will.” Trust that!  Which leads me to my next verse….

 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

Because of this verse I know that He is with me wherever I go, and He will never lead me to a place He has not yet fully equipped me for. As believers, we are commanded to be strong and courageous; to not be afraid or discouraged. This is not a suggestion, but a command! That changes things, doesn’t it? Imagine the impact we can have on others when we choose to trust God’s plan for us instead of shrinking back in fear!

 So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded. Hebrews 10:35

Overcoming fear is rewarding! According to Strong’s, the definition of “confidence” in this verse is free and fearless, cheerful courage, boldness, and assurance. There is freedom when we overcome our fears with a cheerful courage that only comes from the Lord! I believe this “cheerful courage” is the Joy of the Lord and the Freedom we experience because of it is our reward!

So, if you are facing fears about your fitness goals and feel like giving up (or maybe not starting at all), look to God’s Word to overcome them! He will never let you down. Here is just one more video… Imagine if this girl never “got used to it”!!

I hope you have been encouraged! Will you “get used to it”?

Read the comments or add yours.

