FITspiration Friday: Flex Your Mental Muscles


FITspiration Friday is all about inspiring all of us to be better tomorrow than we were yesterday. My goal is to inspire you to make choices everyday to be as healthy as you can be… even when your mind says you can’t.

One of the greatest challenges in living a healthy lifestyle is mental resilience. We all have moments where we feel like giving up. We think I can’t dig deeper. My legs will fall off. It’s just one bowl of ice cream… Until it’s a bowl everyday, and you’re undoing everything you worked long and hard for. So, how do we face those disheartening thoughts to move forward? Let’s look to God’s Word for answers.

Therefore, prepare your minds for action; be self-controlled; set your hope fully on the grace to be given you when Jesus Christ is revealed. 1 Peter 1:13

Just as Peter extends the challenge to prepare my mind for action, in pursuit of holiness, this truth applies to everything God has called me to do. Preparing my mind  for action is an action in itself. Often, when I am afraid to do something, my thoughts become paralyzing to the point that I can’t MOVE. I just stay in my mind and believe that what I think is impossible is just that: Impossible. So what do I do to prepare my mind for action? Read God’s Word.

Finally, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things. Philippians 4:8

As he closes his letter to the church of Philippi, Paul encourages them to think happy  thoughts! Don’t confuse these with mantras or affirmations! These happy thoughts are directly related to reality (very important). Take a moment, now, to list 8 things that qualify as “happy thoughts” according to Paul. What is True in your life? What is Noble in your life? What is Right in your life? What is Pure in your life? What is Lovely? What is Admirable to you? What is Excellent or Praiseworthy? Make a list. Here are a few of mine: It is True that God will fully equip me to complete anything He calls me to do! It is Excellent that my brother is hanging out with me this Saturday! 🙂 It is Praiseworthy that my running buddy has officially run further than she ever has before, with two knee surgeries behind her! God is so Good! 

Not only does God’s Word tell us what to do when we face these mental challenges or how  to do it, it also tells us why!

Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance. And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. James 1:2-4

We all face trials of many kinds on a daily basis. Because of this scripture, we no longer need to ask why? It clearly states that our trials test our faith, produce our endurance and perfect us! After knowing that, does that not make you want to face more trials? Maybe not, but you can certainly challenge yourself in your pursuit to be fit and healthy! Knowing that the testing of your limits will produce endurance and make you stronger!

The challenges you create in your workouts can help you develop a sense of mastery over adversity and a belief in your ability to cope with the trials you face in life. Without a true challenge, your mastery remains underdeveloped. So, if you’ve hit a plateau with your weight, and you want to keep losing, increase the intensity level of your workouts. Find ways to push yourself beyond what you already know you can do. Then, when you face trials in life that seem impossible to overcome, your brain will already be trained to get you through them!

Conquering one intense workout will give you the confidence not only to try harder workouts, but to face anything in life!

Leave a detailed comment below and share 2 of your happy thoughts! I love hearing from you!

I hope you  are inspired! I will see you, right here, next Friday for more FITspiration! Remember, prepare you minds for action by thinking happy thoughts to produce endurance and grow strong in every area of your life! 

One comment

  1. Linda Hall · · Reply

    This is just what I needed today! Thank you! It is True that Jesus’ grace is sufficient! You, my dear are lovely in my life! This awesome blog is praiseworthy and worth sharing to inspire others. It is noble that my sister-in-law has retired after over 40 years of teaching high school students. All is right in my life and balanced with a rewarding job, blessed family, and true friends. These are just a few, can’t wait for next week’s FITspiration!

Read the comments or add yours.

