FITspiration Friday: Set Goals + Reward Yourself


I hope you all were blessed and inspired by last weeks Fitspiration post. It was about making choices that will lead you to the life of your dreams. If you missed it, you are more than welcome to check it out here! Another exciting week has gone by and I’m ready for more FITspiration!

Time just flies, doesn’t it? I mean, am I the only one who feels like it was just last week when we were all joining the gym and setting New Year’s Resolutions?! “Sometimes I feel like it’s slipping through my fingers like… like water!” I said to my Doctor one day. Without skipping a beat he asked, “What do you want to do that you’re not doing?”

Immediately, I understood what he meant. If I was more intentional with my time, by setting goals, I wouldn’t have so much regret about the time that slipped away. So, I made a list of everything I wanted to do and started setting goals. Since the new year was approaching, I took it a step further and made a list of everything I would like to do in 2013.

As I slowly check off my 2013 goals, I am reminded that setting goals is a crucial step to achieve anything you want… especially when it comes to fitness!

Here are 4 steps to achieve anything you want: 

  1. Decide what you want.I want to run a marathon. Be specific. I want to run the Rock N’ Roll Marathon in Savannah, GA on November 9. If you can’t decide what you want, you’re not alone! We all have moments where we don’t know what to do or what God wants us to do (especially in our twenties!). Go to Him! He never fails! In scripture He tells us the best way to get through those moments is to delight in Him and He will give us the desires of our heart! (Psalm 37:4)
  2. Set small realisticachievable goals that lead you to what you want. I split the full 26.2 miles into four achievable goals: 6.5 miles, 13.1 miles, 19.6 miles, 26.2 miles Do what is best for YOU! Set even smaller goals if necessary.
  3. Write it down. The image below is my official training program with my goals clearly marked. Writing down your goals, and marking them off, is pure motivation! Having them on paper reminds you what you want and helps prevent the urge to quit! (No quitting!)
  4. Reward yourself! (Preferably not with food;) Every time you reach one of your small goals, reward yourself with something that will motivate you to get to the next.  Do NOT skip this step! It’s very important!

SetGoals+RewardYourself

Write down your goals, not only to remind yourself, but to declare BOLDLY to the enemy that you are serious about achieving them!! –Paula White

Even though training gets harder everyday, I am getting even more excited than I was in the beginning. Not only am I looking forward to my rewards, I am looking forward to how much more they will help me achieve my ultimate goal! Just so you get the idea, here are the rewards I’m looking forward to:

GOAL #1 (6.5 miles) – New running clothes. Maybe from the NEW Lululemon Athletica Columbia Showroom ! Not only will I feel great about achieving this goal, I will also look great the next time I hit the pavement!… Which will make me feel even more great!

GOAL #2 (13.1 miles) – White Nike+ Sportwatch GPS Powered by TomTom  The benefits of this reward are endless! I can track my runs, speed, elevation, duration, distance, see my route, create new routes…I have wanted one for years! I’m so excited!

GOAL #3 (19.6 miles) – Brand new gear for race day! Outfit, shoes, everything! At this point, there is no turning back. It’s time to get real about what to wear on race day! Not just race day, but my FIRST MARATHON EVER!

GOAL #4 (26.2 miles) – My Marathon Medal! The T-Shirt! The goody bag! Having accomplished a marathon!

Having these rewards to look forward to will keep me going on days I want to give up, and they’ll do the same for you too! Remember, reward yourself with something that will help get you closer to your goal. For example, if you have a goal to lose 40 lbs, and you’ve recently lost 10, GOOD JOB! Reward yourself! But, don’t go out and celebrate at Coldstone Creamery by eating all your favorite flavors of ice cream and toppings. That will quickly undo what you’ve worked so hard to achieve! Instead, do your research and buy a cook book with lots of new nutritious recipes you’ve never tried before (from a source you know and trust)! When you lose the next ten pounds, go shopping for a new outfit that actually fits the new you! See what I mean?

Enjoy this video as you answer this question: What is one of your current fitness goals and what reward are you looking forward to when you reach it?

Take a moment to look at the weeks ahead. Set new goals and kick-start your plan of action. This will inspire you to get moving, nourish your body, and achieve your fitness goals!

Leave a detailed comment below and respond to the question above! I would love to hear from you!

Once again, be intentional with your time by setting goals and enjoying the rewards! You are on your way to living the life of your dreams!

See you, right here, next Friday! Have a great week!

Read the comments or add yours.

