Training Begins… Again


IMG_7920

Race day is only four months away, but I have a long way to go!

Earlier this year, I set a personal goal to run the Rock N Roll Marathon in Savannah, Georgia. Race day is November 9, so I was pretty confident I had plenty of time to train.

On March 9, I did my first race Ever! The Columbia, SC Marathon Relay with three friends. It was divided into two 5 mile legs and two 8 mile legs. I did the first leg (which was 5 miles), and before the race was over, I knew my life had changed. I was HOOKED!

My next race was on April 6. I ran the Cooper River Bridge Run with two of my girlfriends and 31,000 others. It was quite an experience! I was in Corral G and finished with a time of 1:07… A time I’m proud of considering all the routes I run in Columbia are totally flat (i.e. Riverfront Park, Riverwalk, Lake Murray Dam, my neighborhood, etc.). In no way was I ready for that incline! I can’t wait until next year though. Having done it once makes me want to push myself and do better next year. I love it!

A few weeks later, as I continued training, I started getting tired… Like really tired! My IT Band was killing me. I needed to get new shoes, but instead, just bought a brace. It was just getting harder (Side note: At this point I had reached 9.5 miles. So I was getting closer to my goal and even more pumped than before!). After a couple of weeks of unusually extreme exhaustion, I went to the doctor and found out I had mono. Training stopped.

I needed to get well fast! Not only so I could keep training, but I was preparing to go on a mission trip to Nicaragua in just a couple of months! I needed to get well so I could still go and keep up my health while I was there. I decided it would be best if I stopped training until after my trip.

Was that the best decision? I’m honestly not sure. I just know that I’m finally completely well and ready to train. The only problem is that I have 16 weeks!! Who trains for their first marathon in 16 weeks?! Only crazy people, right? Yes! … Hello! I am one of them.

I went running again for the first time last week and it was the most humbling moment of the year for me! I could only run one mile in 13 minutes!

I am fully aware that this sounds “extreme,” but I am determined to stick with my original goal: The full marathon. If absolutely necessary, I will most definitely transfer my registration to do the half-marathon (if absolutely necessary).

An important truth I am clinging to is that anything is possible with God. Is that too cliché? Oops. Not sorry! The Message version of Philippians 2:13 says,

Be energetic in your life of salvation, reverent and sensitive before God. That energy is God’s energy, an energy deep within you, God himself willing and working at what will give him the most pleasure.

So when I’m tired and feel like giving up, I can rest in the Truth that my energy comes from Him who gives me Life! And because of that, I will keep running, and praise Him while I’m doing it!

Read the comments or add yours.

