God Is Not Afraid


Before now, I have shared very little about my faith in Jesus Christ as the Living Son of God. Not because it is of small importance to me. Not because it has not given me something to write about. But because it is as personal to me as my relationship with close family and friends. And for the same reasons I would be wise by not exposing every detail of those personal relationships to you all, I chose to not expose the details if that one relationship that matters most to me. Until now…

Some of you, who are my close friends and family, know that I am training to run a marathon this year. It has been one of the most challenging and exciting times of my life. There are good days and there are bad days. Short runs and long runs. It is a process that requires focus and determination to complete and when I cross that first full marathon finish line I’ll know all time and energy spent getting there was worth it! Oh, how I cannot wait!

The other day, during my long run, the song You Are by Colton Dixon popped into my head and played itself like a broken record. After a while, it inspired me to think of all the things my God is to me and say them out loud. I know, it sounds crazy, but I am a little, I won’t lie. So with each new inhale came a thought and every exhale came a word…

You are my hope…
You are my king…
You are my Savior…
My redeemed…
My healer…
Provider…
You are my treasure…
You’re my friend…

Then it turned into thoughts of who God is Himself…

You are strong…
You are humble…
You are gentle…
You are kind…
You are peace…
You are love…
You are not afraid…

And just like that, I was listening to a broken record again. “You are not afraid. You are not afraid. You are not afraid. You are not afraid…” Before that moment, I had always heard or even said myself how strong or powerful God is, but never truly processed that He is not afraid. Of anything. He knows what’s going to happen. He is not afraid. How much peace is there in that?

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.  Isaiah 41:10

What is your greatest fear? You know, the one that takes miles of running to burn off… imagine if you knew the outcome. How nice that would be! But, it’s not reality. You will never know until you get there. And while that may be agonizing at times, know this friends: God knows… and He is not afraid! Trust Him, follow Him and live worry-free.

I run in the path of your commands, for you have set my heart free.  Psalm 119:32

Here’s the song:

Read the comments or add yours.

