Telling A Lie


Are you good at telling a lie?

Honestly?! I’m Not.

As you know, I wrote a post about hiding your own feelings. And in that post, I shared that I’m one of those “open books.” My face says what I’m thinking far before my mouth does.

The truth is, I don’t want to maintain lies. Mark Twain knows what I mean…

“If you tell the truth, you don’t have to remember anything.” -Mark Twain

Telling lies requires us to remember every detail and even create more lies until it snowballs into a mess we can’t keep up with any longer. Lies also destroy our lives. Here’s what Dorothy Allison has to say…

“Things come apart so easily when they have been held together with lies.” -Dorothy Allison

Sometimes we don’t have to tell a lie at all to hide the truth.

“When truth is replaced by silence, the silence is a lie.” -Yevgeny Yevtushenko

Does that make it a lie? Of course it does. I once dated a guy who would hide things from me unless I specifically asked him what I wanted to know. Without my constant questions, I may have never known who he really was.

Hiding who you are is just as bad as lying about who you are. It hurts you and those around you. It destroys the lives you are desperately trying to protect… with lies.

Are you good at telling a lie? Share your thoughts below!

Read the comments or add yours.

