Wearing A Mask


When you see the word mask, is your first interpretation Halloween, protection, covering up, or persona?

October is here and it’s that time of year to ask one of my favorite questions. What are you wearing for Halloween? I enjoy hearing the many creative responses. You know, outside of princess, witch, superhero, or just going with a mask.

At the top of my list goes the clever costume idea my sister thought up a few years ago. She put numbers all over a white shirt and called herself “someone you can count on.” … which is true, by the way

Though I could go on about Halloween masks, here’s a quote by R.J. Palacio to steer us into today’s topic…

“I wish everyday could be Halloween. We could all wear masks all the time. Then we could walk around and get to know each other before we got to see what we looked like under the masks.”

Why do we wear a mask?

Often we feel that we have to pretend to be someone who we’re not to be accepted by a group of people at work or in a social setting. We feel like we have to prove ourselves. When in reality, what we are proving is more to ourselves than to anyone else.

There are certainly good masks that shape our overall performance. There are even studies revealing the power of a mask. Often pretending to be confident or happy when you’re not can lead you to true confidence and an improved mood.

When does wearing a mask hurt us?

Wearing a mask can also have negative effects on us. Sometimes we wear them so often, we lose sight of who we really are. We let go of the beauty in our souls for what we think is beautiful to others. When you look at your life and feel like you’re living a lie, you know you have a mask wearing problem.

So how do we remove the mask?

It’s easier said than done, because you must be able to accept who you are before you expect others to do the same. But I challenge you today, to take off you mask and put it away. Know that it is possible to do and be many things without covering up. So be who you are and have confidence in yourself. You are beautiful as you are. Be bold, be yourself, and try putting these words from Jocelyn Soriano into practice.

“I bare my nakedness to the world that the world may see who I am; not the mask that hides my flaws, not the mask that hides my beauty. I bask in the light and I take off the mask!”

Do not be afraid to take off your mask.

6 comments

  1. […] began to fade and the real “Leigh” started peaking through. I was exhausted. Remember the mask I mentioned a couple of days ago? I had a problem. I was living a lie, and my face could no longer […]

  2. Over the past year I’ve been in the process of removing my mask one area at a time. It’s hard to do but once you get it off it gets easier. 🙂

    1. I can agree with you on that! Thank you for sharing. Was there a part of that process that stood out that might be helpful to readers who are trying to remove their masks?

      1. The most influential thing I did this past year was go to a 10 day meditation retreat. It allowed me to focus on myself and really think about what I wanted and what I was showing the world. Here’s the link: http://dhamma.org

        Other than that, it was a lot of small things I did. You first have to decide to remove the mask and then figure out how you can go about it slowly so you and others are so shocked about your change in personality.

        1. What an amazing experience that must have been. I had to take a break from life myself, so I could step back and see things as they really were. Thank you so much for sharing D. Ann and welcome to my blog! 🙂

  3. […] Wearing A Mask (watchmerock.wordpress.com) […]

Read the comments or add yours.

