The Beginning Of Writing


This. Is hard. Writing a book is one of the most difficult things I have ever done. The decision alone was daunting enough, but actually writing it has opened up a totally new world to me that I’ve never known before. The writing world.

As you all know, I am pretty emotional. Not only is it part of being a woman, it’s what facing mental illness is all about. Taming your emotions. Controlling your thoughts. Fighting yourself for your life.

I’m doing a Bible Study on Tuesday nights as we read through the newly released book, Unglued by Lysa Terkeurst. This book is all about being honest about emotions and conquering them. As I am reading through it, I think about my own book and hope to have the same kind of impact that she does in hers. I have so many thoughts and quotes underlined, my book is starting to look like I read by using a pen to underline each word as I go.

There is one quote that has stuck with me in my writing process when I start to feel like it’s not possible. She shares the insight…

“Hard does not mean impossible.”

How true that is, yet so easy to forget. When I expect nothing short of perfection, progress in life and in my book don’t just seem impossible, they are impossible. This journey was not meant to be perfect. Life was not meant to be perfect.

The most successful people in the world are the ones that have failed the most, because they are willing to, to get where they want to be.

The beginning of writing has been more difficult than I imagined. Knowing what to say is not the problem. How to say it and in what order are terrifying to me, simply because I don’t know exactly what to do. I’m not there at the finished product. I don’t know what it will look like in the end. I don’t know what genre it is perfect under yet. The words I write are kind of just there.

Though there are many words, I’m afraid of committing to only one area to write in. Do I want to write a memoir or brilliantly fictionalize my story for a more dramatic impact? An example of that would be A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. Who knows how this masterpiece will come together on to each page? I’m unsure myself.

But I continue to write! It’s because of you that I write, my reader. It’s because I need the support from my readers and help from those who understand how this process works. I know I am not alone in this, I just need to find the right mentors.

I’m ready to get this thing written! Hard is not impossible, right?

Thank you for spending time on my blog.

Leigh.

One comment

  1. […] The Beginning Of Writing […]

Read the comments or add yours.

