Value Of The Day: Respect


“Respect yourself and others will respect you.” ― Confucius

Today is all about respect.

Why?

Because here’s what I did with the exercise I mentioned from The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. I wrote in paragraph form everything I wanted those specific people in my life to remember me as or for. Then, I read through it a few times and circled key words, such as, faith, family, understanding, wisdom, etc. There were a total of 47 words that belong to my core values and not one of them am I willing to compromise.

I know that in the past post on core values says to pick just five that resonate with you. Consider this the update. Not one core value that comes directly from you should have to be compromised in your daily life, just to fit five in… that’s not enough. You may have more or less than I do, who knows, you may truly only have five. But, the point is that they are yours and you are responsible for living them out each day.

So, what I did with the words I circled is wrote one of them on each day in my planner through January 1, 2013. Because there are so many, I know that if I try to work on all of them at once, I will be terribly overwhelmed! One a day will give me better focus on each one and what it means to me. Giving me a chance to actively choose to carry them out in life situations, to create a reference for when I come across the same word a second or third time. You could easily use this same method, but everyone has their own way of doing things. Do what best works for you and your lifestyle.

Respect is today’s Value Of The Day. What does it mean to you? Let me know in the comments below! Here are a couple quotes from authors who share how they define respect.

“The truest form of love is how you behave toward someone, not how you feel about them.”
― Steve Hall

“Submission is not about authority and it is not obedience; it is all about relationships of love and respect.”
― W. Paul Young, The Shack

 Have a beautiful day!

Leigh

Read the comments or add yours.

