What Are You Putting Off?


There have been too many times in my life where I waited to do something, set it aside for later, or never even did it at all, because I was afraid! I was exhausted. I just felt ehh… like I wasn’t worth it!

You feel that way?!

Me too!

Join the mass population of people who are just like us, because today is the day we quit putting it off (whatever it is). We quit believing our tired old nagging scripts that say we’re not worth it.

We are worth it! 

Whao, Leigh, why are you so hyped up about this?

And now you’re referring to yourself in third person?!

What’s going on?!?!

I’ll tell you!!! … I just went running for the first time in FOREVER! (And let me remind you, getting back in shape was the original purpose for this blog! See…?) And I feel fabulous! I feel Great! So great that I wish I hadn’t put it off so long! That I wish I just did it anyway. Even when I felt like I couldn’t move! When I felt like it was too hot, or whatever other excuse I came up with that sounded so enticing!

This happens to me in cycles. Well, I happen to me in cycles, I guess. Convincing myself I can’t go on. It’s always a Lie!

As you know, I have a constant struggle knowing what’s real and what isn’t (if you don’t, here’s why), so when it comes to moving forward, deciding between fear and discernment, everything is distorted.

What is that thing you’ve put off?

It could be a phone call, text, or email to someone you’ve been “meaning to” get in touch with, getting back into your workout routine (…remember how amazing it feels?!), going out with old friends, writing a book, creating a masterpiece, trying a new recipe, reading the next book on your to-read list, buying that dress even though you have nothing to wear it to (just because it makes you feel Stunning!), going to that audition, making a list of all the things you want to do (now, that’s a good idea!), or running for senate… ANYTHING!

This list goes on forever, so I’ll spare you and let you come up with your own!

But there’s a rule: It must be something you’ve been dying to do!

So, that bill you’ve put off because of resentment doesn’t count… but go ahead and pay it anyway! You need to!

Today is all about doing that thing! 

You know what it is!

So, for just a minute, get off your phone, tablet, notebook, or whatever it is you are using to read this, and GO DO IT! Or if it’s huge, TAKE THE FIRST STEP!

Now!

Then, come right back and LEAVE A COMMENT! Tell us what your “thing” is and how it made you feel when you ran for it! Would you recommend others try it?! Let us know! I cannot wait to HEAR FROM YOU!

Until then, I’m accepting the challenge myself! You heard right! Even though we could count my run as the first challenge, let’s say this starts NOW! So, you go do your “thing” and I’ll go work on my BOOK PROPOSAL!

Let’s Rock This!

…Bye Now.

Leigh 🙂

P.S. Don’t you love this quote ?!

“The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something. Don’t wait for good things to happen to you. If you go out and make some good things happen, you will fill the world with hope, you will fill yourself with hope.”

I didn’t post who said it, because I didn’t want to stir up any unwanted vibes! Any ideas who it might be?! Leave your guess in the comments below! See ya!

7 comments

  1. […] What Are You Putting Off? (watchmerock.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Hey Leigh,

    I’ve tagged you for the Liebster Blog award! Please see my latest post for the rules! I think your blog is sooooooper doooooper.

    1. Wow, thank you so much! How cool is that?! And exciting! Thanks Leigh! Love!

  3. […] be in a year!” It’s that simple! I give credit to those words for finally going running again. They have given me instant awareness and focus when I feel like I’m not making any […]

  4. I want a new career out of the corporate world … something creative!!! I’ve been looking under every little rock but its not there …..

    1. Leigh, you are incredibly creative!!!… I think the corporate world is full of little rocks, but keep looking, because you could be the biggest one!

      I had originally replied to this comment saying something similar, but deleted it after realizing I was talking to myself! What makes me proud of you is that you’re Looking! You’re craving it and you’re finding a way to make it happen! Keep going! I’m excited to see where you will be a year from now!

      Love hearing from you,
      Leigh.

      1. thanks other Leigh …. I know that a tiny bit of action is far better than lots of thinking about it SO I’m going to start doing little things and hopefully I’ll get braver and hopefully find the thing that blows my hair back and makes me smile! Thanks so much for the encouragement! xx

Read the comments or add yours.

