They Told Me Not To Tell


Hello, all you Truth Seekers!

FIRST, I want to shout out to all of my awesome followers who think my writing rocks! YOU ROCK! Thank you for letting me share my heart with you! I could write an entire post on how thankful I am for you … I think I will. Until then, let’s talk secrets!

We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.
― Oscar Wilde

As you read in my last post, keeping secrets can be exhausting. Simply holding them under the surface can destroy years of life! What I want to look at today is how they can protect. We already established that some of the most destructive secrets we keep are in place to protect someone’s reputation. This is usually because they have done something socially unacceptable or morally corrupt! We all have our own, big or small, unacceptable corrupt behavior that we tightly tame for society. It’s human nature!

But, what if it’s someone else’s secret we’re holding under? That changes things.

Have you been thinking about that beach ball? That would be like someone jumping in the water with you, but then shoving there own beach ball tightly into your arms right beside your own. Holding these secrets under just became extremely and uncomfortably difficult.

That’s where the damage is caused, I think, when the secret is out of our own control, because it belongs to someone else. Remember that secret I told you about? The one I kept for 18 years? …It was someone else’s.

Actually, there was more than one person I held the same secret for. At age 5, there were two that I remember very clearly. As I grew older, that number did too.

We’ve all got both light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act on. That’s who we really are.
― J.K. Rowling

It wasn’t until the recent past that the truth of what really happened became accessible in my memory. I know, that sounds pretty crazy, right? It is! And it has a whole lot to do with why I feel crazy most of the time too.  Finally, it feels so good to be able to put a name on my insanity rather than just think it and wonder!

On the next page, you will not only see how these huge secrets protected me, but how they ruined me. I know, it sounds sad-ish, but it will shock you and that is always exciting, right?! Instead of seeing what’s on the outside, I’ll tell you what I’m really like on the inside.

Can you relate? Let’s find out!

Read the comments or add yours.

